Men Win, Women Take Second at Elms Invitational

Men Win, Women Take Second at Elms Invitational

CHICOPEE, Mass. – The improvement from one week to the next came to a head on Saturday for the Johnson & Wales University cross country teams. Led by a first place finish from senior Adam Sachs, the men won the Elms Invitational at Chicopee State Park while the women came in second.

The men had four top 10 finishes on the 8k course as they accumulated 28 points to beat out Western New England by eight points. The women ran a 6k course and just missed out on a victory of their own, finishing two points behind St. Joseph while beating WNE by three points.

Posting the best finish of her collegiate career was freshman Ciera Gross (Blairstown, NJ) in eighth place at 26:38. Also cracking the top 10 was rookie Mary Kelly (Wheaton, Ill.) with a time of 26:49. Senior Kellie Graf (Ballston Lake, NY) crossed the line in 27:23 to take 13th. Two more Wildcats finished in the top 20 to round out in the scoring in Alison King's (San Diego, Calif.) time of 28:00 to take 19th while Oliva Molokwu (Malden, Mass.) ran a time of 28:14 to take 20th.

It was the third top 10 finish for Sachs (Ellicott City, Md.) this year as he crossed the line in 27:35 for the victory. He was nearly two minutes faster than teammate Alex Melncik (Port Jervis, NY) who finished second at 29:23. Right in behind him was Brandon Au (Oxford, Conn.) in 29:38 to take third. Also cracking the top 10 was Triston Creekmore (Virginia Beach, Va.) at 30:42. Rounding out the JWU scoring was Mike Jones in 15th place in a time of 32:01.

Johnson & Wales runs its next race at Lincoln Woods in Lincoln, RI, at the Tri-State Championship.

Women's Results 
8. Ciera Gross – 26:38
10. Mary Kelly – 26:49
13. Kellie Graf – 27:23
19. Alison King – 28:00
20. Olivia Moloku – 28:14
26. Taniecia Anderson – 29:07
32. Hannah Blossom – 29:44
34. Shannon Rothermel – 30:19

Men's Results
1. Adam Sachs – 27:35
2. Alex Melnick – 29:23
3. Brand Au – 29:38
8. Triston Creekmore – 30:42
15. Mike Jones – 32:01
30. Alex Nathan – 34:10
35. Alex Robinson – 35:18