Wildcats Finish Fifth at GNAC Championship

Wildcats Finish Fifth at GNAC Championship

BRISTOL, RI – A pair of rookies led the Johnson & Wales University cross country teams to fifth place finishes at the GNAC Championships. The women scored 157 points while the men totaled 160 points.  

Norwich won the title on both the men's and women's side. The men posted 18 points, finishing 50 points ahead of Emmanuel. The Norwich women recorded 57 points, edging Simmons by five points.

Freshman Victoria Barlow (Riverhead, NY) came in 13th place at 20:39 to take Second-Team All-GNAC honors. On the men's side, rookie Cole Geraghty (Bogota, NJ) led the way in 20th at 30:08.

Coming in behind Geraghty was Alex Prusky (Schenectady, N.Y) as he equaled his fastest time of the year with a 31:34. Nick Pereira (Franklin, Mass.) set a personal-best with a time of 31:36 to take 37th. Alex Nathan (Beachwood, Ohio) was next across the line in 34:16 and Nathan Pasquarello posted his best time of the year at 38:01.

Also cracking the top 25 for the women was Kaylan Dunham (Manassas, Va.) at 21:32. Close behind was senior Mary Kelly (Wheaton, Ill.) with a 21:50 to place 28th. Fellow senior Alison King (San Diego, Calif.) posted a time of 23:53 and Hannah Blossom (Westchester, Pa.) at 23:58 rounded out the JWU scorers.

The Wildcats wrap up the regular season in two weeks at the NCAA East Regional, hosted by Southern Maine 

Men's Results:
20. Cole Geraghty         30:08
35. Alex Prusky             31:34
37. Nick Pereira             31:36
55. Alex Nathan             34:16
62. Nathan Pasquarello 38:01
69. Joshua Johnson      42.31 

First-Team All-GNAC
Brody Hale, Norwich
Adam Saucier, Norwich          
Patrick Carty, Emmanuel (Mass.)                   
Jack McNally, Norwich                              
Ryan English, Norwich                              
Trenton Shimata, Norwich                            
Connor Lafontaine, Norwich                          

Second-Team All-GNAC
Korey Leonard, Norwich           
Erik Brobst, Emmanuel (Mass.)            
Mike Flowers, Mount Ida                   
William Rapsas, Norwich                             
Jovan Sematimba, Regis (Mass.)
Christian De Boer, Norwich              
Colter Sheveland, Norwich       

Runner of the Year: Brody Hale, Norwich
Rookie of the Year: Trenton Shimata, Norwich           
Coach of the Year: Nick Cooper, Norwich
Institutional Sportsmanship Award: Regis 

All-Sportsmanship Team
Tim Austin, Anna Maria
Patrick Carty, Emmanuel
David Sherman, Johnson & Wales
Troy Gonsalves, Lasell
Derek Folish, Mount Ida
Connor Lafontaine, Norwich
Sean Toomey, Regis
Yash Jagtap, Rivier
Lucas Fisher, Saint Joseph's
Paulo Guedes, Suffolk