Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

JWU Athletics Inducts Inaugural Class into Chi Alpha Sigma

JWU Athletics Inducts Inaugural Class into Chi Alpha Sigma

PROVIDENCE, RI – The Johnson & Wales University athletics department has a long tradition of success in the classroom and in competition. On Friday, JWU welcomed 84 student-athletes into its first class of the Chi Alpha Sigma honor society.

Watch the induction ceremony

The organization recognizes college student-athletes who receive a varsity letter in their sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and/or senior years and display excellent character and citizenship.

Women's volleyball led all programs with nine inductees. On the men's side, the baseball and men's ice hockey teams had seven honorees. Twenty-one out of JWU's 24 teams had at least one student-athlete inducted.

Chi Alpha Sigma is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1996 by then DePauw University head football coach Nick Mourouzis. His goal was to provide outstanding student-athletes with an opportunity to become connected within a fraternal association that aligns their educational and athletic successes for a lifetime. Chi Alpha Sigma is the first national scholar-athlete society to honor those collegiate student-athletes who have excelled in both the classroom and in athletic competition.

Membership in local chapters is an honor bestowed upon selected student-athletes. A college or university must be a four-year institution and a member of the NCAA, NAIA or USCAA.  Selection for membership is by an athletic department designee in consultation with the individual's head coach and is based on outstanding scholarship, earned athletic letter winner, and excellent character and citizenship.

2020 Inductees

Baseball (7):
Rich Bourdeau
Kyle Cutler
Tom Doran
Colby Greenhalgh
Jake Hernandez
Kevin Manning
Justin Perez

Men's Basketball (1):
AJ Bajana

Women's Basketball (2)
Cheyenne Lee
Maddy Moro

Men's Cross Country (1):
Brent Giles

Women's Cross Country (3):
Kaylan Dunham
Caylin Moniz
Sam Passetto

Field Hockey (4):
Rachel DeVore
Grace Pendergast
Manuella Rios

Men's Golf (3):
Hunter DiLorenzo
Ryan Malloy
Mac Patch

Women's Golf (1):
Alexis Anastos

Men's Ice Hockey (7):
Matt Bernot
Conor Cassidy
Graham Day
Tal Finberg
Craig Hessenius
Joe Noonan
Tyler Piekarski

Women's Ice Hockey (6):
Taylor Davis
Kaitlin Irvine
Samantha Kawejsza
Kathryn Mason
Cassidy Simanski
Drea Westgaard

IDA Equestrian (5):
Allison Bullman
Lois Campbell
Kayla McCurley
Lexi Milich
Lindsay Vollinger

IHSA Equestrian (4):
Jennifer DePietro
Claire Farley
Sophia Johnston
Erin Lavigne

Women's Lacrosse (1):
Marley Medina

Women's Rowing (6):
Denisses Cortorreal
Nicole Gerber
Kira Poulson
Alyson Taveras
Abigail Taylor

Men's Soccer (2):
Jack Amorosano
Braeden Karakosky

Women's Soccer (4):
Janelle Charron
Brianna DeLuna
Jaclyn Larsen
Olivia Pellegrino

Softball (7):
Saxon Bresnahan
Olivia DiGiacomo
Kristin Frost
Shari Minalga
Kayla Prior
Summer Ramundo
Devin Scales

Spirit (3):
Logan Krusinitz
Rachel Jung
Kristen Woolslayer

Men's Tennis (2):
Brandon Case
Alexander Rohana

Women's Tennis (4):
Drew Bobey
Mackenzie Carroll
Katherine Ledesma
Claire Parry

Women's Volleyball (9):
Mikayla Arimura
Maria Coniglio
Kelly Delaney
Hannah Dolan
Elizabeth Hamilton
Elyssa Nicolas
Bella Oldham
Samantha Senske
Kate Walker

Wrestling (1):
Tim Higginson